City Council

The seven-member City Council is made of two at-large members and five members who represent Council districts throughout Frankfort. Each Council member began his four-year term in January 2020.

Representing the legislative branch of City government, the Council is responsible for proposing and passing legislation that governs City operations. They also work in partnership with the Mayor to pass an annual budget to fund City government operations. The Council may create standing citizen advisory boards, committees or commissions to help Councilors in conducting the public’s business.

The Council meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers in the basement of Old Stoney at 301 East Clinton Street. If a holiday falls on one of these Mondays, notice will be given for an alternative meeting date.