State of Indiana Updages regarding COVID-19 (coronavirus) can be found here. Close
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

News & Updates

1/13/2020 City Council Meeting Minutes

January 13, 2020


The Common Council met in a regular meeting on January 13, 2020 in the Council Chambers, 301 East Clinton Street, Frankfort, Indiana at 7:00 PM.   Mayor McBarnes stated that the meeting is a joint meeting with the Utility Service Board and the Council.

Mayor Chris McBarnes called the meeting to order and led the assembly in the Pledge of Allegiance.  Clarence Warthan then prayed. Upon roll call, the following members were present:   Eric Woods, Clarence Warthan, Brandt Fuller, Steve Beardsley, Michael Brite, Megan Sheets, and Joe Palmer.  Also present: Judith Sheets, Clerk-Treasurer and Les Bergum, City Attorney.

Upon roll call vote the following were present for the Utility Service Board:  Mike Kelley, Kent Brewer, Mike Reeder, Joe Root, and Rick Gunyon.

MINUTES:   The minutes for the December 9, 2019, regular meeting were presented.  Joe Palmer made a motion to approve the minutes for the December 9, 2019 council meeting.  Eric Woods seconded the motion.  Upon roll call vote four “ayes” – Eric Woods, Joe Palmer, Clarence Warthan, Steve Beardsley, and three “abstain” – Brandt Fuller, Megan Sheets, Michael Brite were recorded.  Motion passed.

PUBLIC COMMENTS:    There were no public comments.

ORDINANCE 20-01:    AN ORDINANCE AMENDING THE 2020 SALARY ORDINANCE FOR SALARIES AND HOURLY WAGES OF EMPLOYEES OF THE CITY OF FRANKFORT.  Steve Beardsley made a motion to read Ordinance 20-01 by title only.  Clarence Warthan seconded the motion.   Upon roll call vote seven “ayes” were recorded.  Motion passed.  Ordinance 20-01 was read by title only.  Mayor McBarnes stated that Jason Forsythe has been working hard to oversee both the Parks and Street Department and this would be $461.54 bi-weekly until a new Parks Superintendent is named.   Joe Palmer asked the Mayor to let the Council know when the new Parks Superintendent is named.  Joe Palmer made a motion to suspend the rules and pass Ordinance 20-01 on the First, Second and Third Reading.  Brandt Fuller seconded the motion.  Upon roll call vote seven “ayes” were recorded.  Motion passed.  Steve Beardsley made a motion to pass Ordinance 20-01 on the First, Second, and Third Reading and to retroactive the pay back to January 1, 2020.  Clarence Warthan seconded the motion.  Upon roll call vote seven “ayes” were recorded.  Ordinance 20-01 passed on the First, Second and Third Readings with the pay retroactive to January 1, 2020.

Mayor McBarnes introduced Jennifer Payne and Jeff Roepsch with Johnson Controls.  Jennifer presented information on energy efficiency for the City.  Jennifer stated that Johnson Control would be of value to Frankfort.  Jennifer stated that she had met with different department heads within the City and Utilities to come up with ways to save money and make upgrades.  Jennifer and Jeff answered questions from the Council and Utility Service Board.   There was discussion by the Council and Utility Service Board.

OLD BUSINESS:     Eric Woods stated that we had the Not for Profit Organizations funding for 2020 that should be discussed.  Eric stated that someone could reach out to the entities that requested funding and bring it back to the Council.  Mayor McBarnes asked if anyone wanted to serve on this committee.  Megan Sheets stated that she would be interested in serving.  Mike Brite stated that he would be interested in serving but that he works for the Paul Phillippe Resource Center.   Joe Palmer stated that maybe Mike could stay on the committee but not be the one to reach out to Paul Phillippe.  Eric Woods stated that he would join them on the committee.

Mayor McBarnes asked that the committee bring back the information to the next meeting.

Joe Palmer stated that the Council needs to reappoint 2 people to the Redevelopment Commission and that he and Todd Corrie are currently on the RDC.  Steve Beardsley made a motion to appoint Joe Palmer and Todd Corrie to the Redevelopment Commission.   By unanimous vote, Joe Palmer and Todd Corrie were reappointed to the Redevelopment Commission.

Mayor McBarnes stated that the City Plan Commission needs a new appointment, the Wildcat Solid Waste needs a member and Partners in Progress member needs to be appointed.

NEW BUSINESS:   Election of President Pro Tem of the Council.  Steve Beardsley made a motion to elect Eric Woods as President Pro Tem.  Michael Brite seconded the motion.  Upon roll call vote there were five “ayes” – Megan Sheets, Michael Brite, Brandt Fuller, Steve Beardsley, Joe Palmer, one “nay” – Clarence Warthan, and one “abstain” – Eric Woods.  Motion passed.

Mayor McBarnes asked Eric if he would be interested in Wildcat Creek or PIP or if he would like it to be open to others.  Mayor McBarnes talked about the Rainy Day additional appropriation for Health Insurance in 2019 and also the encumbrances for HWC for the pool and American StructurePoint for Washington Avenue.  Steve Beardsley stated that he wanted to move the maximum amount into Rainy Day.   Mayor McBarnes stated that he and the Clerk-Treasurer would get with Reedy Financial on this.

Mayor McBarnes handed out changes to the Building Services job descriptions to the Council.

Police Chief Troy Bacon gave an update on the downtown parking and passed out a map of the downtown with the different areas marked.  Clarence Warthan stated it is a workable plan and he is in favor of the parking zones.  Chief Bacon asked for suggestions on how to move forward on this.  Chief Bacon stated that this would change parking from 3 hours to 2 hours and he would recommend a full-time downtown parking officer.  Discussion followed.  Steve Beardsley stated that this could be discussed at the next work session after the next Council meeting.

Jason Forsythe spoke about the Chris Heron Program and that he had worked with all four of the County High Schools.  Jason the Council to attend.

ADJOURNMENT:   There being no further business to come before the Council, Joe Palmer made a motion to adjourn.  Clarence Warthan seconded the motion.  Mayor McBarnes adjourned the meeting.